Minecraft and Data Protection
What is GDPR?
The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) is a comprehensive privacy law that provides individuals residing in the European Union (EU) and European Economic Area (EAA) greater control over their “personal data” and requires organizations to maintain appropriate security of personal data. GDPR is an important step forward for clarifying and enabling individual privacy rights.
I have a Microsoft account. Is that the same as a Mojang account?
No, these are separate accounts. Prior to December 2020, players used a Mojang account to play Minecraft Java Edition. Since then, all new Minecraft Java Edition players were required to buy and play with a Microsoft account. We have also been steadily migrating players to Microsoft accounts since then and Mojang accounts will be deprecated in the future. At that point, a Microsoft account will be required to play all versions of Minecraft.
Mojang does not collect telemetry when playing with a Mojang account.
How can I access or delete my data?
For players on a Microsoft account for all Minecraft game titles, you can access and control your data via the Microsoft Privacy Dashboard.
For Minecraft Java Edition Players on a Mojang account, you can request a copy of your data or to have your data deleted by submitting a request to Mojang support.
If you wish to delete your Minecraft: Java Edition account and purchased a game license prior to August, 2022, you will need to submit a request to Mojang support. However, if you purchased after August, 2022, you can manage your data via the Microsoft Privacy Dashboard.
Learn more about Microsoft's privacy practices.
I've requested my data be deleted; now what?
After you request deletion, you will be given a 30-day grace period & then your Minecraft account will be deleted. After this 30-day grace period, your Minecraft account and your ability to access any games you currently own will be gone forever, as will your ownership of these games. Any Realms subscription will also be canceled, and any Minecraft Dungeons, Minecraft: Java Edition and Minecraft for Windows game data associated with your account will be deleted. If you wish to play again, you’ll have to create a new account by logging in to Minecraft with your Microsoft Account and purchase any game or games you wish to play again.
I've requested my data be deleted, but I've changed my mind; what can I do?
Contact support asap via aka.ms/Minecraft-Support.